Agendas, Meetings and Minutes - Committee details

Committee details

West Mercia Police and Crime Panel

Purpose of committee

The West Mercia Police and Crime Panel is part of the governance arrangements for policing in the West Mercia area (which covers the geographical areas of Herefordshire, Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin and Worcestershire).  


Its role is to maintain a regular check and balance on the performance of the directly elected Police and Crime Commissioner.  


Members of the public may participate by asking a question or making a statement to the Panel (up to three minutes each person) for a maximum of 30 minutes in total, having given appropriate notice (no later than 9:00 a.m on the morning of the working day before the Panel meeting) to the contact officer below.  Responses will normally be provided in writing after the meeting.

Find agendas and reports before April 2014.

Complaints about the Police and Crime Commissioner

The West Mercia Police and Crime Panel is responsible for handling complaints about the conduct of the Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) and the Deputy PCC.  The Panel has delegated the implementation of the complaints process to the Monitoring Officer of Worcestershire County Council as the host authority for the Panel.

The Panel cannot deal with complaints about policies which the PCC pursues, nor about the Chief Constable or police operational matters.  The legislation does not allow the Panel itself to formally investigate complaints, but to attempt informal resolution of appropriate conduct complaints.

If a complaint alleges that the PCC or Deputy PCC may have committed a criminal offence, the complaint must be passed to the Independent Office for Police Conduct (IOPC).  It is open to the IOPC to refer the complaint back to the Panel later on.

How to make a complaint

All complaints about the conduct of the PCC/Deputy PCC must be made in writing to Sheena Jones, Democratic Governance and Scrutiny Manager, Legal and Democratic Services, Worcestershire County Council, County Hall, Spetchley Road, Worcester, WR5 2NP or by e-mail to


  • Steve Mackay  (Chairman)  Substantive Member - Worcestershire County Council
  • Tony Baker    Substantive Member - Malvern Hills District Council
  • Gwilym Butler   
  • Sebastian Bowen    Co-opted Member Herefordshire Council
  • Carole Clive    Co-opted Independent Lay Member
  • Roger Evans    Co-opted Member - Shropshire Council
  • Karen May    Substantive Member - Bromsgrove District Council
  • *    Substantive Member - Redditch Borough Council
  • Stephen Reynolds    Substantive Member - Telford & Wrekin Council
  • Kuldip Sahota    Co-opted Member - Telford and Wrekin Council
  • Juliet Smith    Substantive Member - Wyre Forest District Council
  • James Stanley    Substantive Member - Worcester City Council
  • Emma Stokes    Substantive Member - Wychavon District Council
  • Dave Tremellen    Co-opted Member - Shropshire Council
  • Colonel Anthony Ward OBE    Co-opted Independent Lay Member
  • Brian Wilcox    Substantive Member - Herefordshire Council
  • Michael Wood  (Vice Chairman)  Substantive Member - Shropshire Council

Contact information

Support officer: Sheena Jones.

Phone: 01905 846011